Employee Spotlight: Beverly Roper

For our first employee spotlight, we sat down with our 2016 American Pest Control Woman of the Year award winner, Beverly Roper! 

Laurie and Beverly Woman of the Year

You recently were selected as the APC Woman of the Year. What did you think when your name was announced?

I was surprised! I looked at Laurie and said “I’m going to cry!” It was a great experience.

Tell us a little bit about yourself. What’s something most people don’t know about you?

I’m 36 and have been with American Pest Control for 5 years. I have an associate’s degree in accounting and graduated Magna Cum Laude from Brenau University. I definitely enjoy anything outdoorsy like hiking, kayaking, relaxing in my hammock, and doing yoga. That’s my go-to. And of course shopping. I live in Rock Branch, right in between Elberton and Hartwell, with my boyfriend Nik and my cat Dixie and his dog Gwen. I’m a family person and I enjoy spending time with my family.

Kayak photo

What do you love about living in Rock Branch?

I enjoy that it’s nothing but flat farm land. I drive down my driveway leaving in the morning and don’t hear anything but birds and crickets. It’s just the country and everywhere you drive you see cows or hay bales or tractors.

What is your favorite part about working in the accounts receivables department?

Definitely working with Brad, John, and Wesley on Wood Infestation Reports is fun. When I was a CSR I had certain customers that were just my customers and I enjoy getting to talk to customers still. They’re the most important. And I enjoy getting to work with all the ladies that I get to work with.

What is your favorite part about working in Athens?

The places to eat! My favorite is downtown at Last Resort, but lately I’ve been loving Barberitos.

What local charity or organization are you most passionate about?

My friend Alex has been getting emails from the Hartwell Humane Society so we’ve been getting huge bags of kitten chow or cat chow. I bought cat beds for the moms and kittens because they had a lot of new kittens. And we got tons of cat litter so it’s just our way of helping out with somewhere local. Anything to help with animals.

16864838_10155061410162002_1191071157170215454_n
Beverly’s cat, Dixie

How did you get in to the pest control industry?

I had just completed my degree at North Georgia Technical College and I heard that there was a position open at American Pest Control so I went in for the interview and I was so nervous. I didn’t know anybody and it was new to me but I thought “I’m going to give this a shot, this is really cool”. So I sat down and was talking to Fran and Ken and all of a sudden I just wasn’t nervous anymore and I felt this connection like I could be a part of this family. I wasn’t even home yet before they called and said they wanted me to come back. After that I became part of the family.

Beverly Roper

Leave a Reply

